The 2019 Alexander Dalrymple Award

Jamuna and her fleet
Side-scan operations – photographs ©

On 18 May the United Kingdom Hydrographic Office (UKHO) reported that the 2019 Alexander Dalrymple Award has been presented to Vice-Admiral Vinay Badhwar, National Hydrographer to the Government of India, in recognition of his outstanding contribution to Indian hydrography and across the wider Indian Ocean region.

As National Hydrographer, Vice-Admiral Badhwar has been a pivotal member of the International Hydrographic Organization’s Capacity Building Sub-Committee since its creation. He also leads the Indian Naval Hydrographic Office’s own regional Capacity Building programmes, coordinating efforts to help Indian Ocean coastal states to develop their hydrographic and cartographic capabilities – an important step to unlocking each of these states’ blue economies.