Storm names for 2019-2020 announced for UK, ROI and The Netherlands

On 5 September the (UK) Met Office and Met Éireann of the Republic of Ireland, along with new partner KNMI of the Netherlands, revealed the list of 21 storm names for 2019-2020.

First introduced in 2015, the Name our Storms campaign has helped raise awareness of the potential impacts of severe weather in Britain and Ireland before it hits. Now in its fifth year, Met Office and Met Éireann are joined by the Royal Netherlands Meteorological Institute (KNMI), the Dutch national weather forecasting service.

Earlier this summer Met Office and Met Éireann received thousands of suggestions from the public after asking people to send in ideas for future storm names.