New chairman of the council
of ESA

It was announced on 12 June that following the tragic and sudden passing of the European Space Agency Council Chair, Harald Posch, the Council has elected Bo Andersen of Norway and Jean Yves Le Gall of France as Co-Chairs. A Deputy will be named by Austria at a later date, it is reported. They will serve until the end of the current Chairmanship on 30 June 2016.

Paris Air Show
Full-size Ariane 5 and Ariane 1 mockups at the ESA Pavilion, 2015 Paris Air and Space Show. Credits: ESA-CB PROD, 2015.

ESA was present at the Paris Air & Space Show at Le Bourget in week commencing 14 June with a pavilion offering guests an overview and updates of its activities, 40 years after the signing of the ESA Convention.